Skip to main content



International Association of Classification Societies (IACS) is an association of 11 classification societies. These Societies establish and apply technical requirements for the design, construction and survey of marine-related facilities, principally ships and offshore structures. These requirements are published as classification rules. Classification rules are developed to contribute to the structural strength and integrity of essential parts of the ship’s hull, and its appendages, and the reliability and the function of the propulsion and steering systems, power generation and those other features and auxiliary systems which have been built into the ship in order to maintain essential services on board for the purpose of safe operation of the ship. Classification surveys are carried out by qualified surveyors using mainly visual inspection and sampling techniques. Classification societies may also act as Recognised Organisations for Flag States, verifying the same vessel’s compliance with international and/or national statutory regulations.


The International Council of Cruise Lines (ICCL) is a trade organisation whose mission is to participate in the global regulatory and policy development process to ensure a safe, secure and healthy cruise ship environment.


The International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) is the international trade association for merchant ship operators and represents the collective views of the industry from different nations, sectors and trades.


The International Labour Organisation is the United Nation’s specialised agency which formulates international labour standards in the form of Conventions and Recommendations setting minimum standards of basic labour rights.


The International Maritime Organization (IMO) is the United Nation’s specialised agency that is responsible for prescribing international standards for safety of life at sea, marine security and protection of the marine environment.


The International Maritime Satellite (INMARSAT) organisation operates a constellation of geostationary satellites that extend mobile phone, fax and data communications to every part of the world, except the poles. INMARSAT provides telephony and data services to users world-wide, via special digital radios called "terminals". An INMARSAT terminal contacts the satellite and communicates to a ground station through the satellite. Ship-owners and managers, connected to an INMARSAT satellite, can dial into the international telephone network and send data over the internet.


The International Association of Dry Cargo Ship-owners (INTERCARGO) represents the interests of owners, operators and managers of dry cargo shipping and works closely with the other international associations to promote a safe, high quality, efficient and profitable industry.

Interim Certificate of Registry

Issued where there exists a “transfer of ownership” request with Cayman for a vessel that is not on its Register and negotiations and/or paperwork and the like are not yet concluded between the buyer and seller but the buyer (expected owner) is eligible to qualify and intends to register the vessel in Cayman.


The International Association of Independent Tanker Owners (INTERTANKO) is a forum where the industry meets, policies are discussed and statements are created to represent the interests of independent tanker owners and operators of oil and chemical tankers.


International Oil Pollution Prevention 


The International Shipping Federation (ISF) is an international employers' organisation dedicated to maritime manpower issues, providing advice and guidance to members on industrial relations issues.


International Safety Management 

ISM Code

The International Safety Management Code requires development and implementation of a safety management system which addresses all of a company’s activities onshore and on board its ships. The Code places the responsibility for the safety of ships and the prevention of pollution where it truly lies, within the company management structure. This means that the whole organisation is responsible for safety, not just the ship’s master or shore-based manager. This code is mandatory and falls under SOLAS Chapter IX.


International Ship and Port Security


The International Ship and Port Facility Security Code is a comprehensive set of measures designed to enhance the security of ships and port facilities, developed in response to the perceived threats to ships and port facilities in the wake of the 9/11 attacks. The ISPS Code is given force through Chapter XI-2 of SOLAS. The Code has two parts, one mandatory and one recommended. In essence, the Code takes the approach that ensuring the security of ships and port facilities is a risk management activity and that, to determine what security measures are appropriate, an assessment of the risks must be made in each particular case. The purpose of the Code is to provide a standardised, consistent framework for evaluating risk, enabling governments to offset changes in threat with changes in vulnerability for ships and port facilities through determination and implementation of appropriate security levels and corresponding security measures.


International Ship Security Certificate 


International Tonnage Certificate 


The International Transport Workers' Federation (ITF) represents transport workers worldwide and promotes their main interests (working conditions, remuneration and benefits) through global campaigning and solidarity. The ITF is one of the world's oldest and largest labour unions. Created in 1896, the federation now represents more than 5 million workers in 137 countries. For 50 years, it has campaigned against the so-labeled “flags of convenience” system.