

Maritime Authority of the Cayman Islands Head Office 3rd Floor, Government Administration Building, 133 Elgin Avenue PO Box 2256, Grand Cayman, KY1-1107, Cayman Islands Tel: +1 345 949 8831 Fax: +1 345 949 8849 Email: <u>cisrky@cishipping.com</u> Website: www.cishipping.com

SHIPPING NOTICE 04/2010 Rev 4

LIST OF QUALIFYING COUNTRIES IN WHICH COMPANIES, OTHER ENTITIES OR INDIVIDUALS CAN QUALIFY TO OWN A CAYMAN FLAG VESSEL

To: OWNERS, MANAGERS, CHARTERERS AND MASTERS OF ALL CAYMAN ISLANDS SHIPS (INCLUDING PRIVATE AND COMMERCIAL YACHTS)

1. BACKGROUND

1.1 In accordance with the Cayman Islands Merchant Shipping Law (2016 Revision) (MSL 2016), entities that are eligible to directly own a Cayman registered vessel (without forming a Cayman registered Company), include bodies corporate, shipping entities or citizens of the countries as listed in this Notice.

A. Countries which are either¹ Members of the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA) or which are included in The Anti-Money Laundering Regulations 2017 or AMLRs (repeals and replaces Schedule 3 of the Cayman Islands Money Laundering Regulations (2015 Revision) or Third Schedule Countries)²-

Ref. No.	COUNTRY	Ref. No.	COUNTRY	Ref. No.	COUNTRY
1	Argentina.	18	Greece.	35	Peoples Republic of China
2	Australia.	19	Hong Kong.	36	Portugal.
3	Austria.	20	Hungary.	37	Romania.
4	Bahamas.	21	Iceland.	38	Singapore.
5	Bahrain.	22	India.	39	Slovakia.
6	Barbados.	23	Ireland.	40	Slovenia.
7	Belgium.	24	Israel.	41	Spain.
8	Brazil.	25	Italy.	42	Sweden.
9	Bulgaria.	26	Japan.	43	Switzerland.
10	Canada.	27	Latvia.	44	United Arab Emirates.
11	Cyprus.	28	Liechtenstein.	45	United Kingdom.
12	Czech Republic.	29	Lithuania.	46	United States of America.
13	Denmark.	30	Luxembourg.		
14	Estonia.	31	Malta.		
15	Finland.	32	Netherlands.		
16	France.	33	New Zealand.		
17	Germany.	34	Norway.		

¹ Some countries are included in more than one of these categories.

² Overseas Territories and Associated States on AMLRs included in Table B for clarity.

B. The Overseas Territories and Associated States, Principalities etc. of the above states include the following³-

Ref. No.	COUNTRY	Ref. No.	COUNTRY	Ref. No.	COUNTRY
1	Anguilla	7	Faroe Islands	13	Jersey
2	Aruba	8	French Guiana	14	Madeira
3	Azores	9	Gibraltar	15	Martinique
4	Bermuda	10	Guadeloupe	16	Kingdom of the Netherlands
5	British Virgin Islands	11	Guernsey	17	Marshall Islands ⁴
6	Canary Islands	12	Isle of Man	18	Monaco

1.2 The list will be subject to change from time to time in line with changes to The Anti-Money Laundering Regulations 2017 or changes in the EU or EEA Membership and a revised Shipping Notice will be issued as and when such changes occur.

1.3 The relevant provisions of the MSL 2016 are contained in section 4 of that law_{2}^{5} .

1.4 A copy of the Anti-Money Laundering Regulations 2017⁶ may be sighted on the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA) website at <u>www.cimoney.com.ky/</u> under "Regulatory Framework" and the link to "Laws and Regulations".

³ There are numerous Overseas Territories, Dependencies, Associated states and other Non-Metropolitan Territories of many countries listed in Table A and hence the list in Table B is intended to show the main such Territories and Dependencies offering the relevant services regarding the incorporation of companies etc. Any not listed are not necessarily excluded.

⁴ Marshall Islands included based on the Compact of Free Association with the US

⁵ For the definitive text of the Merchant Shipping Law (2011 Revision) see the official published version available from the Maritime Authority.

⁶ The laws and regulations are provided on this website for informational purposes only. Official copies of the laws and regulations can be obtained from the Legislative Department of the Cayman Islands at minimal cost.